Yeah, paintins.

image

Nevermore - Abril Andrade Griffith

This time I want to share some professional paintings that I found intriguing, if not altogether comforting. Since art aims to affect us deeply, it’s no wonder that horror has a place in fine arts also. “Nevermore,” above, beings back images from my own childhood nightmares. And yet, it is… cute. I think.

image

Poltergeist - Tom Carlton

Speaking of childhood, this was the second movie to give me nightmares. The first being Platoon (nother story). The artist chose precisely the scariest image in the film. I’d set my TV outside, but it’s busy right now.

Think it’s my favorite.

image

Solitude - Ken Meyer

Just another awesome tonal study. Watercolor has never evoked this kind of emotion in me before. Love it enough to hang it up? Available online.

image

Uneasy - Matt Truiano

Hauntingly beautiful. So simple in form and genius in perspective. Yet so complex in color and texture. Plus, if you stare long enough, the skull sorta seems to float… Or I’m tired. Either way, sleep will be uneasy tonight, that’s for sure.

Hope you enjoyed!

2 responses to “Yeah, paintins.

Leave a Reply

